Canadian literary prizes

The finalists for the Giller Prize, Canada’s “premier” literary prize, have been announced. They are: Shauna Singh Baldwin for her novel The Tiger Claw, Wayson Choy for his novel All That Matters, Pauline Holdstock for her novel Beyond Measure, Alice Munro for her short story collection Runaway, Paul Quarrington for his novel Galveston, and Miriam Toews for her novel A Complicated Kindness. The winner will be announced on November 11.

Also of interest to Canadian writers: the deadline for the CBC Literary Awards is November 15. You can submit your short stories, poems, or travel pieces online. The winning entries will be published in Air Canada’s enRoute magazine and broadcast on CBC radio. Prize amounts total $60,000.


You might want to subscribe to my free Substack newsletter, Ancestor Trouble, if the name makes intuitive sense to you.